OBU Reunion at Parliament House

OBU Reunion at Parliament House

The lunch, held in the Speaker’s Dining Room on 25th October, was hosted by George Souris, Member for Upper Hunter since 1988 and presently Minister for Tourism, Major Events, Hospitality & Racing, and Minister for the Arts, and organised by Bruce Jacob. Fourteen members of the year attended (with Rob Busby, Deputy Chair of the TAS Board, also in attendance) with classmates gathering from as far afield as Rockhampton (Andrew Palmer), Brisbane (Bruce White), Geelong district (John Lyons), Orange (Duncan Stuart) and Uralla (James Croft). A highlight of the gathering was a pair of photographs provided by John McIntyre, of the 1962 Under 13 A and under 13 B XV, with a youthful Don Cowan (Housemaster, Dangar House 1960-63) posing as Coach. (Don has recently retired from the Priesthood in NZ, and now lives in Auckland.) A fine time was had by all present – and the occasion even resulted in a small surplus, the funds being donated (and gratefully received) by the Sydney Branch of the OBU.


The photo (courtesy of Richard Chaffey) shows:

Standing L to R: Duncan Stuart (1964-66), Rodger Martel (1963-67), George Souris (1961-67), Ross Farrell (1965-67) Peter Williams (1962-67), John McIntyre (1962-67), John Lyons (1960-65), Bruce White (1964-66), Andrew Palmer (1962-67), Rob Busby (1963-68), Don McRae (1962-67), Richard Chaffey (1962-65).

Seated L to R: James Croft (1959-67), Peter Johnstone (1962-67), Bruce Jacob (1965-67).